top of page

Mr and Mr's Robinson 1 year on: West Yorkshire Wedding Photographer

Lucy Robinson 13th July 2017

Oh my! Has it been a YEAR already since this AMAZING wedding?!

I originally met Lucy through accepting wedding jobs via University, and accepting this particular job was very exciting to me, especially with it being still in my first year of practising and doing weddings.

Lucy entrusted me with one of the biggest jobs imaginable for her wedding, and with me still being unexperienced at the time, I was very glad that I'd found the most perfect laid back couple!

The wedding was placed at the Greenhead Park in Huddersfield West Yorkshire, in the gorgeous conservatory!

I finally met Carl (groom) on the wedding day which I don't find to be odd with my experience of doing wedding photography.

He was quite nervous prior to the initial ceremony, and waiting for Lucy to rock up with her charming romantic styled bridal gown (AH SO MUCH LOVE).

Leeds Wedding Photographer

The ceremony was so charming, with the conservatory allowing the natural light flood in at all angles, illuminating the lovely couple in rays of sunshine. We was very blessed with a very hot day, so the sun allowed me to photograph at ease.

What I was mostly excited about, was the fact that the officiant allowed me to stand up at the front very close to the couple (so if you are a bride to be/ groom to be, if you butter up your officiant/ priest to allow your photographer to quietly stand up front, you are bound to get some amazing close up and intimate shots of you and your partner!)

Looking back the overall wedding was so relaxed, light hearted, funny, and all around people were smiling genuinely from ear to ear, which is exactly what I look for in a wedding.

They had the reception at the same venue at Greenhead Park Huddersfield, which was a fabulous choice in my opinion, as the whole wedding party was able to enjoy the rare sun rays that England receives! (Yes Im talking about the glorious weather a lot... I'm British.)

At the reception I let asked Lucy to let me know when she was ready for me to take her and her close family for some very short formal group shots, and for when she was ready for her intimate couple shots of her and Carl. Even though Lucy was adamant at first that she didn't want to spend more than a few minutes on the more formal images, she found that my approach was a lot more relaxed than she anticipated, which lead her to want to stay a little longer to get those shots that she ended up loving!

The couple's family very much got into the flow of having their photos taken together as well, so much so, that I will never forget the moment when they all huddled together, made each other laugh and completely charmed the camera all at once. Hands down one of my all time favourite group shot moments!

Usually when I do a very short session with the Bride and Groom, I do ask that it is just us, as I find that people can become very withdrawn/ shy as I get the impression that onlookers take the fun out of it for them. So we had everyone else to leave and head back to the party for some well deserved fun.

Lucy and Carlos were absolute naturals with their mini couple session, even though Lucy had explained that they were not the photo romantic types.

I found that my natural approach to photographing couples was PERFECT for this couple, so their personalities just jumps from the image!

You can see how comfortable they are hugging in close in front of the camera, giggling with each other, and even pushing each other over in playfulness.

This wedding I will always take with me, because this wedding was the crucial one that made the realise the exact direction I was wanting to take my wedding photography, and I found my love of non obtrusive/ lifestyle wedding photography approach.

Lucy and Carl have contacted me since the wedding, and I can'not contain myself enough with announcing that they have welcomed a little one into their lives this year, and this lovely couple deserves nothing less!

A big congratulations on your full one year of being married, Mr and Mrs Robinson, and I absolutely hope that I get to meet mini Robinson one day!

All my love, light and happiness thrown at you guys.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page