top of page

West Yorkshire Wedding Photographer: Liliarna's Newborn Lifestyle Session

As a West Yorkshire Wedding photographer, and my approach to wedding photography being Lifestyle, I offer portrait Lifestyle sessions for all types of people children, couples, newborns and families ect.

Baby Liliarna had just turned 2 weeks, and her first time mother Natalee and father Joshua opted for a Lifestyle Newborn Photoshoot.

We had decided to do the shoot in their living room, as even though we had planned to get some outside in the natural light, it decided to rain on that day (typical aye?) so we settled for window light.

The shoot was set up in the living room which had the largest window in the house, in order for me to work with natural light (with me being a lifestyle photographer, I work mostly with natural light).

We started off with some shots of mother and baby, placed in front of the window and shooting directly into the light, which created a beautiful soft light around them. I had Joshua holding the reflector in front of Natalee and Liliarna in order to bounce back the light coming from the window, and then onto mother and baby, in order to stop the images turning into silhouettes.

After shooting with mother and baby together, we got some father and daughter shots as well, placing him the same as Id asked Natalee to. I managed to capture mum and dad interacting with baby as they usually would, because I prefer asking my clients to just talk to each other and interact with each other, rather than standing still and posing straight at the camera. This is a technique I always use even in my wedding photography.

I then moved on to capturing some beautiful photos of all three of them together, and because I didn't want them both to feel awkward having their photo together, or me asking them to 'act romantic', I just carried on keeping them in conversation, and having them make each other laugh. This is the best way to get those wide toothy smiles which aren't forced.

Liliarna slept throughout the entire hour session, and enjoyed being wrapped up in the cloth that I provided for her photos. I had wrapped Liliarna myself, as I have swaddled many newborns on their photoshoot when I use to do studio. I feel that if I have a fussy baby or an upset baby, swaddling them can give them a sense of comfort as it can make them feel safe and secure. Liliarna however was restful even when she was taken out of the swaddle, and passed between mum and dad time and time again, so she was an absolute delight to work with.

Lifestyle Portrait photoshoots are perfect for those who hate sitting and grinning falsely at the camera, for those who have children who are a bit of a 'wild child; or are too boisterous to sit nicely for a studio portrait. Lifestyle sessions are great for everybody, especially if you are looking to have an experience that everyone will remember as a joyful and fun time.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page